Patti Smith moved to New York in the late 1960s and, over the next few years, while living with photographer Robert Mapplethorpe, established a reputation as a writer of fierce vision and uncompromising originality. She trafficked in the underground theater scene (where she collaborated with playwright Sam Shepard on the play Cowboy Mouth) and published poems in small press editions, which, along with her published rock criticism, established Smith in the New York arts scene of the early 1970s.
Her February 1971 poetry reading at St. Mark’s Church, where rock critic Lenny Kaye joined her for three songs on guitar, opened the door for her future recordings. The two hit it off right away, discovering a shared interest in obscure rock records. Two years later, Smith and Kaye reunited for a concert in celebration of Rimbaud, and the seeds for a band were sown. Adding Richard Sohl on piano the following year, the trio found regular gigs in and around New York.

The tracks 1-12 are from her mentioned very early poetry reading at St. Mark´s Church, and some parts of shows from 1973 and 1974 are “filler” for this collection (tracks 13-23).

1. Ha! Ha! Houdini!
2. Four Interesting Positions Of A Retired Child Star
3. Mary Jane
4. Lono Lord
5. Renee Falconetti
6. Bitch
7. Death By Water
8. Seventh Heaven
9. Amelia Earhart
10. Flying Saucers
11. Piano
12. The Amazing Tale Of Skunkdog

NYC 1973, venue unknown
13. Brian Jones
14. Prayer
15. Jesus Christ

Max’s Kansas City, NYC 1974
16. We’re Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together
17. I’m Wild About That Thing
18. Harbor Song
19. The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game
20. Piss Factory
21. We Three
22. Land
23. Neo Boy – Hey Joe

Link dead
(cover art included)