Archive for February 28, 2015

Isabel Parra is a famous Chilean singer-songwriter and interpreter of Latin American musical folklore. She was part of the “Nueva canción” (Spanish for ‘new song’) movement –  a movement and genre within Latin American and Iberian music of folk music, folk-inspired music and socially committed music. Nueva canción is widely recognized to have played a powerful role in the social upheavals in Portugal, Spain and Latin America during the 1970s and 1980s. Salvador Allende´s Unidad Popular government had enormous support among Nueva canción musicians who composed the campaign song “Poder Popular” for the presidential election of 1970 and recorded “El pueblo unido jamás será vencido” in June 1973.

Isabel Parra was born in Chile in 1939 and began her career in music at the age of 13 when she made her first recording with her world-renowned mother, the folklorist Violeta Parra. She has since interpreted and recorded the songs of some of the most famous Latin American folk singers. After the September 11, 1973 Chilean coup d’etat she lived in exile in Argentina and France for many years. She returned to Chile when democracy returned to her country.

Isabel Parra has toured extensively during her career and was a distinctive figure in the Nueva Canción Chilena (New Chilean Song) movement. Isabel Parra is also the sister of the famous folk singer Ángel Parra and the niece of the famous poet Nicanor Parra.

Isabel Parra visited the GDR several times in the 1960s and 1970s –  for example to take part in the “X. Weltfestspiele der Jugend” in 1973. 
In 1971 Gerhard Siebholt and Karl Heinz Ocasek produced this album with Isabel Parra and the musicians from Quilapayun in the AMIGA studio, East Berlin. It was released in 1972 and is a part GDR’s support for the struggle of the Chilean people and the Unidad Popular government of Salvador Allende for a better tomorrow, one of equality and free from tyranny – music as “a weapon in the anti-imperialist struggle”.

01 – La muralla
02 – A desolambrar
03 – Que dira el Sto, Padre
04 – Ayudame, Valentina
05 – Canto de la cuculi
06 – Deme su voz, deme su vano
07 – Por Vietnam
08 – Lo que mas quiera
09 – Quiaquenita
10 – En septiembre canta el gallo
11 – Elegia al Che
12 – El desconfiado
13 – Solita duermo en mi cama
14 – Amores Bailando
15 – Comienza la vida nueva
(320 kbps, cover art included)



The “Premier Festival Del Nuevo Canto Latinoamericano” took place at the National Auditorium in Mexico City between March 30 and April 4, 1982, in collaboration with UNESCO and “Casa de las Americas”. The album features songs by Roy Brown, Quilapayun, Amparo Ochoa, Daniel Viglietti and others.


01. América Latina – Nicomedes Santa Cruz
02. En la vida todo es ir – Roy Brown
03. Flor de metal – Los Flokloristas
04. Espigas de libertad – Lilia Vera
05. Siringuero – Luis Rico
06. El sombrero azul – Alí Primera
07. Luz negra – Quilapayún
08. Cuando salgas luna llena – Noel Nicola
09. Epitafio a Juan ‘N’ – Amparo Ochoa
10. Las hormiguitas – Daniel Viglietti
11. Somos los hijos del maíz – Luis Enrique Mejía Godoy y Mancotal
12. Canción con todos – César Isella

VA – Premier Festival Del Nuevo Canto Latinoamercano (1982)
(192 kbps, cover art included)

Born in 1958 in Berlin, Dagmar Manzel is one of Germany’s most noticed and successful actresses. Alongside of her career in theater, film and TV, her love pertains for music as well. Following her successful solo song recital “Ich bin ein Wesen leichter Art” at Deutsche Theater, Berlin, she performed the title role of Offenbach’s operetta “Die Großherzogin von Gerolstein”. Further engagements in musical theater led her to the title role at Berliner Ensemble in “La Périchole” and to Hans-Otto-Theater Potsdam as “Rosalinde / Die Fledermaus”. At Komische Oper Berlin, she has been celebrated not only for her debut as “Mrs. Lovett / Sweeny Todd”, but also for her achievements as Lilli Vanessi in “Kiss me Kate”. This successful show has also been transferred to the opera Cologne, where it has been running ever since. Dagmar Manzel can also be seen and heard in a new production of Ralph Benatzky’s “Im Weißen Rößl” at Komische Oper Berlin since the start of the season 2010/2011.

Dagmar Manzel is also familiar to the concert stage. She performed at La Cité de la Musique in Paris with the Ensemble Intercontemporain songs by Hanns Eisler under the direction of Peter Rundel; with whom she collaborated again in Zurich this year to perform Kassandra by Michael Jarell with the chamber orchestra of Collegium Novum Zurich. Twice already, she has been working with co-actor Robert Gallinowski in a song recital called Philharmonischer Salon. It is a recital evening, initiated by Götz Teusch, former cello player with the Berliner Philharmoniker, with songs from Berlin cultural life during the 1920s. On the occasion of opening the Jewish Culture Days in Berlin, Manzel gave a concert devoted to Richard Heymann accompanied by the pianist Tal Balshai and his ensemble in early spring of 2011. With the equal lineup she could be heard at Konzerthaus Berlin Gendarmenmarkt during Hanns Eisler Days 2012. A triumphant success has been the new production of Kurt Weill’s “Sieben Todsünden” with director Barrie Kosky at Komische Oper Berlin in spring of 2012 in which Dagmar Manzel sang the role of Anna. Furthermore, she performed at the opening of the Augsburg Brecht Festival in spring of 2013. In summer of 2013, Dagmar Manzel returned to Komische Oper Berlin to sing the role of Madeleine de Faublas in Paul Abraham’s “Ball im Savoy”.

Here´s the album “Ich bin ein Wesen leichter Art” featuring here programm of stage songs performed at the Deutsches Theater in Berlin.

Dagmar Manzel – Ich bin ein Wesen leichter Art
(256 kbps, cover art included)

This album was released in Santiago de Chile to celebrate the second anniversary of the Unidad Popular government.

It includes performances by some of the most important songwriters and folk musicians of the era, such as Victor Jara, Quilapayun, Inti-Illimani, Angel Parra and Patricio Manns. Between the songs there are narrations by Cesar Aguilera accompanied by Pancho Navarro on guitar.


The album was released in 1972 by the IRT label.


01. Chile Pueblo – César Aguilera & Pancho Navarro
02. Cuando amanece el día – Ángel Parra
03. Chile Cobre – César Aguilera & Pancho Navarro
04. Nuestro cobre – Quilapayún
05. Chile Carbón – César Aguilera & Pancho Navarro
06. En Lota la noche es brava – Patricio Manns
07. Chile Mar – César Aguilera & Pancho Navarro
08. Boga, boga – Manguaré
09. Chile Textil – César Aguilera & Pancho Navarro
10. Obreras del telar – Víctor Jara
11. Chile Tierra – César Aguilera & Pancho Navarro
12. Chacarero – Quilmay
13. Chile Banco – César Aguilera & Pancho Navarro
14. Ni pocos, ni muchos – Amerindios
15. Chile América – César Aguilera & Pancho Navarro
16. Venceremos  – Inti-Illimani and the voice of Salvador Allende

VA – Chile Pueblo (1972)
(256 kbps, cover art included, vinyl rip)